# Minutes of the Swimming New Zealand 126th Annual General Meeting

Sunday 25 September 2016 – 1:00 pm AUT Millennium Room SA213 17 Antares Place Mairangi Bay, Auckland

# **PRESENT**

# Board

Bruce Cotterill (Chairman), Geoff Brown, Simon Perry, Nick Tongue, Margaret McKee, Anna Tootill

# Life Members

Don Stanley, Ross Bragg

# Regional delegates

Celia Honiss (Northland), Sandra Burrow, (Auckland), Jeannie Sibun, (Counties Manukau), Bronwen Radford (Bay of Plenty), Keith Bone (Hawkes Bay/Poverty Bay), Cherie McLeery (Waikato), Maree Collins (Taranaki), Dianne Farmer (Manawatu), Mark Berge (Wellington), Stephen Fryer (Nelson/Marlborough), Wayne Rollinson (Canterbury/West Coast), Matthew Heaton (Otago)

#### Guests

Lisa Cooper, Alan Hale, Joy McFadyen, Geoff Sibun, David Jack, Carlrine Gillespie, Jackie Stanley

# SNZ Staff

Peter Carroll, Kent Stead, Donna Bouzaid, Chris Morgan, Tracey Hickman

# 1. INTRODUCTIONS

Lesley Huckins (President) opened the 126th Annual General meeting and started with a welcome to all (regional delegates, observers, guests, the SNZ Board, Life Members and SNZ Staff).

Kent Stead (SNZ Events & Membership Manager) then confirmed we have a quorum for the AGM.

Procedural rules were then stated and the Agenda for the meeting was explained.

# **APOLOGIES**

Apologies were received from Enid Wordsworth (Life Member), Scott Newman, Dave Gerrard (Life Member), John Mace (Life Member), Swimming Southland, Willem Coetzee, Brett Green and Theresa Stanley.

## **INTRODUCTIONS**

Lesley Huckins (President) asked Bruce Cotterill (Chairman) to introduce all the Swimming New Zealand Board Members, giving a brief history on each.

Bruce Cotterill congratulated Geoff Brown on his re-election to the Board and Margaret McKee on her re-appointment to the Board by the SNZ Appointments Panel. Bruce

Cotterill made a request that the swimming community look out for people who could contribute to the SNZ Board.

# **MEMORIAM**

The meeting noted the following member who has passed away since last year's AGM:

Jo Draisey

The meeting then observed a moment of silence.

# 2. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

2015 AGM Minutes on 27 September 2015

Lesley Huckins (President) asked that the minutes of the 2015 Annual General Meeting of Swimming New Zealand held Sunday 27 September 2015 be adopted as a true and correct record, but asked if there was any discussion on them first.

Moved by **Jeannie Sibun (Counties Manukau)**, seconded by **Mark Berge (Wellington)** that the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Swimming New Zealand held 27 September 2015 are a true and correct record.

All in favour, Carried

#### 3. REPORTS

Lesley Huckins (President) received reports from the Chair and CEO of Swimming New Zealand.

CEO and Chair reports were presented and taken as read.

#### Motion

Lesley Huckins asked that the Chair and CEO Reports be adopted as a true and correct record.

Moved by **Wayne Rollinson (Canterbury WC)**, that the 2016 Annual Report of Swimming New Zealand be adopted as a true and correct record.

All in favour, Carried

# 4. FINANCIALS

Lesley Huckins (President) received the 2015/16 Financial Statements.

Geoff Brown (Chair Audit & Risk) spoke about the Accounts – giving a brief overview of the financials.

# Questions:

Wayne Rollinson (Canterbury) asked for a comparison of venue costs around New Zealand.

Mark Berge (Wellington) asked about funding challenges.

Questions were addressed by Board Members Geoff Brown and Simon Perry.

**Stephen Fryer (Nelson Marlborough)** moved to adopt the 2015/16 Financial Statements, seconded by **Jeannie Sibun (Counties Manukau).** 

All in favour, Carried

Geoff Brown, (Board) asked the meeting to accept the appointment of Deloitte, Chartered Accountants as SNZ's auditors for the 2016/17 financial year. Moved by **Mark Berge (Wellington)**, seconded by **Dianne Farmer (Manawatu)**.

All in favour, Carried

### 5. SWIMMING NEW ZEALAND STRATEGIC PLAN

Lesley Huckins (President) asked Bruce Cotterill (Chairman) to address the meeting and discuss:

- The current focus of Swimming New Zealand
- Where the priority areas lie
- What the next 6-12 months will look like

Discussion held.

Kent Stead (SNZ Events and Membership Manager) also addressed the meeting regarding:

- Health & Safety Act
- Pool Depth

# 6. ITEM OF BUSINESS AS NOTIFIED UNDER RULE 15.3

Don Stanley addressed the meeting on behalf of The New Zealand Swimming Trust. Don expressed his gratitude to Regions and Swimming New Zealand for the collection of the swimmers levy through the SNZ Database, and acknowledged that money have been receive by the Trust from Swimming New Zealand.

# 7. PRESENTATIONS

Swimming New Zealand Awards

Lesley Huckins (President) requested Bruce Cotterill (Chair) to announce the SNZ Awards. The President then presented the following awards which were approved by acclamation:

# **SERVICE AWARDS**

- Teresa Stanley Auckland
- Thomas Ansorg Auckland
- Fiona Paignton Bay of Plenty
- Ellen Sherwood Bay of Plenty
- Gavin Ion Waikato
- Celia Honiss Northland
- Alastair "Ross" Gillespie Northland
- Paul Matson Wellington
- Barbara Ryan Wellington
- David Prattley Canterbury West Coast
- Joanne Russell Canterbury West Coast
- Brigitte Mahan Canterbury West Coast
- Minoo Ghadiali Counties Manukau
- Alan Hale Otago

## **Honours Awards**

- Richard Dunkerton Northland
- Lesley Huckins Canterbury West Coast

# 8. ELECTION OF PRESIDENT

Bruce Cotterill (Chair) noted the excellent work that Lesley Huckins had done with the Board and swimming community during her first year as the president. **Dianne Farmer** (Manawatu) moved to accept Lesley Huckins as the Swimming New Zealand President for a second term, seconded by Celia Honiss (Northland).

All in favour, Carried

Bruce Cotterill congratulated Lesley Huckins on her reappointment and invited her to the Board table where Lesley verbally accepted her position as President.

# 9. CLOSE OF MEETING

Lesley Huckins then declared the 126th Swimming New Zealand Annual General Meeting closed at 2.20pm.